Neel-Schaffer’s David Bowman wins prestigious award from ACEC Mississippi

JACKSON, Miss. (November 9, 2023) – Neel-Schaffer proudly announces that David Bowman, PE, a Senior Vice President with the firm, has been selected as the 2023 Teddy Roosevelt Award winner by the Mississippi chapter of the American Council of Engineering Companies.

The Teddy Roosevelt Award is given annually to an ACEC Mississippi member who has exhibited “Distinguished Services to the Engineering Profession.” David’s contributions to the engineering community are well-recognized, as he has been an active member and past President of ACEC Mississippi, contributing his time and expertise beyond his professional role at Neel-Schaffer to support the council’s activities and multiple civic organizations.

He joined Neel-Schaffer in 1992 and has 35 years of experience as a Civil Engineer. David provides business development services for Neel-Schaffer and has been involved with funding public infrastructure for our clients for over 30 years, coordinating funding opportunities throughout state and federal government. David has also had extensive experience as a Project Engineer and Project Manager, planning and designing numerous water and wastewater projects.

David is following in distinguished footsteps as the fifth Neel-Schaffer employee to win the Teddy Roosevelt Award. The first four include firm co-founders Hibbett Neel (2012) and Gorman Schaffer (2001), former Executive VP Slade Exley (2006), and Stanley Spradling, who won the award while working for Calvert-Spradling Engineers in 2008 and became a member of the Neel-Schaffer family when Neel-Schaffer acquired Calvert-Spradling in February.

“Winning an award that has had past winners such as Stanley, Gorman, Slade, and Hibbett is very special to me,” said David. “They were wonderful mentors who paved the way and demonstrated how to serve their clients, their communities, organizations, and others.

“I never imagined I would win this award and I am humbled and forever grateful to those who made it possible.”

“David’s selection for the Teddy Roosevelt Award is a testament to his professional excellence and his commitment to advancing the field of engineering,” said Melinda McGrath, PE, Executive Vice President for Neel-Schaffer’s Central Region. “His impact on Neel-Schaffer and the broader industry is evident, and this honor recognizes the legacy of leadership and service that David continues to build. We couldn’t be prouder of his well-deserved recognition.”

David received a Bachelor of Science degree in Civil Engineering from Mississippi State University.